Enough is Enough

The unconscionable death of George Floyd requires we all take action.


Safety is at the heart of what we do in the resilient housing movement.  Here at Build Change, we believe in the fundamental right of people everywhere to live safe lives, regardless of the color of their skin. That safety starts at home—but we must acknowledge that even home is not a safe place for the many black Americans who have lost their lives at the hands of police.    

Breonna Taylor was killed in bed.  So was Dominique Clayton. Botham Jean was eating a bowl of vanilla ice cream in his living room.  And Atatiana Jefferson was babysitting her nephew.

As an organization headquartered in Denver, Colorado we cannot remain silent while we watch our fellow citizens of color live in daily fear for their lives, even inside their own homes.

At the same time, we also acknowledge the legacy of segregation and redlining, which even today continue to make many minority-majority neighborhoods in the United States inherently unequal places to live.  It is not a coincidence that communities of color have also been disproportionately impacted by COVID-19, as marginalized healthcare options, mistreatment by police, and lack of access to affordable and safe housing are all the fruit of the same poisonous tree.

How can we help?

Right now, we are mourning, and we are raising our fists in solidarity with everyone marching and speaking out about racial violence.  We are amplifying the voices of black, indigenous, and leaders of color through social media.  And we are listening, so we can learn from and become a better ally of communities of color in the United States.

While we listen, we will #saytheirnames:

Matthew Ajibade

Tanisha Anderson

Anthony Ashford

Aaron Bailey

La’vante Biggs

Sandra Bland

Freddie Blue

Rumain Brisbon

Michael Brown

Patterson Brown

Philando Castile

Wendell Celestine

William Chapman II

Keith Childress Jr.

Alexia Christian

Jamar Clark

Stephon Clark

Dominique Clayton

John Crawford III

Tyree Crawford

Terence Crutcher

Michelle Cusseaux

Albert Joseph Davis

Billy Ray Davis

Christopher Davis

Brian Keith Day

Michael Lorenzo Dean

Samuel Dubose

Jordan Edwards

Salvado Ellswood

Miguel Espinal

George Floyd

Ezell Ford

Ronell Foster

Peter Gaines

Eric Garner

Brendon Glenn

Akai Gurley

Mya Hall

Eric Harris

Kevin Hicks

Anthony Hill

Dominic Hutchinson

Botham Jean

Atatiana Jefferson

Bettie Jones

Lamontez Jones

David Joseph

India Kager

Felix Kumi

Victor Manuel Larosa

Quintonio Legrier

Marco Loud

Asshams Pharoah Manley

George Mann

Joseph Mann

Kevin Matthews

Michael Lee Marshall

Christopher McCorvey

Laquan McDonald

Natasha McKenna

Keith Harrison McLeod

Randy Nelson

Michael Noel

Paul O’Neal

Dante Parker

Dyzhawn Perkins

Richard Perkins

Nathaniel Harris Pickett

Junior Prosper

Eric Reason

Jerame Reid

Tamir Rice

Darius Robinson

Tony Robinson

Torrey Robinson

Troy Robinson

Calin Roquemore

Antwon Rose II

Jonathan Sanders

Michael Sabbie

Antronie Scott

Walter Scott

Demarcus Semer

Frank Smart

Alonzo Smith

Sylville Smith

Alton Sterling

Darrius Stewart

Breonna Taylor

Christian Taylor

Terrill Thomas

Pamela Turner

Benni Lee Tignor

Willie Tillman

Mary Truxillo

Phillip White

Christopher Whitfield

Janet Wilson

Alteria Woods